Taking Care of Yourself As a Writer

If you’re a writer (like me), then you probably spend a fair deal of time writing stories. But where does all that time to write come from? If I was being entirely honest, I’d have to say most writers make sacrifices in order to get their writing done. And in my case at least, making certain sacrifices can result in not taking care of myself very well. So, I figured I’d discuss the importance of taking care of yourself as a writer.

There are a lot of ways writers are terrible at taking care of themselves. Personally, I get into a panic if I’m not working on a story. This means I often forget to eat, and my hygiene actually sucks at times. I also am not your typical guru for fitness and wellness. Bodily exercise is a friend I need to see more, but because I’m a writer I usually spend more time writing. And don’t get me started on my social life. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate people, but sometimes I focus more on getting a story written.

The truth is, all of the above are some of the most common problems writers have when it comes to taking care of themselves, and additionally, every single example is something I struggle with personally.

If you’re a writer, it’s okay to write every day. But for goodness sake, eat a well balanced diet every day, and keep up with your hygiene. Also exercise, and don’t forget to have friends you spend time with (even if it’s only on the weekends). All of the above are important things in every person’s life (writer or otherwise), and if you forget that then there’s a real problem.

Obviously this shouldn’t be stated, but if you’re a writer, you’re more prone to these problems than the general population. And if you struggle with these problems like I do, just know you’re not alone.

If you like what you see, don’t forget to reblog and follow. See you guys next time.

–N.L., 2017

Author: napoleonlovecraft

Napoleon Lovecraft is a blogger and author from the suburbs of Maumelle, Arkansas. Born in 1988, Lovecraft is a lover of the fantasy genre. It is his goal to write in as many fantasy subgenres before he kicks the bucket, with stories ranging from short stories to full-length novels. His debut novel, Kingslayer, is expected to be a unique take on the High Fantasy genre, having been told in first person and aided with footnotes, not to mention the fact that it is set in a non-medieval fantasy world. Lovecraft is studying for his BA in both Professional Writing and Creative Writing at the University of Central Arkansas. He lives in Greenbrier, Arkansas with his family, where his dog and seven cats keep him in line.

Leave a Reply

