Plotting a Novel

Writing a story is hard, but it’s even more difficult when you don’t plot out your novel beforehand. Every writer goes through the plotting process differently, just like they go through the writing process differently. But should a writer plot their novel or story? Well, I’m here to help provide some answers to that question.

First and foremost, it is important to gather ideas. You cannot have a plot without first knowing what your book is going to be about, and by ideas, I mean the basic premise of your book and not the actual plot.

Once I have a basic idea of what my book is going to be about, I start thinking of subplots and character development type stuff, as well as events that I want to take place in the novel. Once I have this done, I do a bubble chart to figure out how these things relate to one another. Other writers use flashcards to do this instead, and that may be more effective, but I’ve never done it myself.

There is another option, and that is to just wing it entirely. Basically, you take the main idea and some outlines for several characters, and you see where it goes. I don’t suggest this, since it can get you into trouble, but if that’s how you do it go right ahead. There really is no limitation to how you should plot a novel.

If you like what you see, don’t forget to reblog and follow. See you guys next time.

–N.L., 2017

Author: napoleonlovecraft

Napoleon Lovecraft is a blogger and author from the suburbs of Maumelle, Arkansas. Born in 1988, Lovecraft is a lover of the fantasy genre. It is his goal to write in as many fantasy subgenres before he kicks the bucket, with stories ranging from short stories to full-length novels. His debut novel, Kingslayer, is expected to be a unique take on the High Fantasy genre, having been told in first person and aided with footnotes, not to mention the fact that it is set in a non-medieval fantasy world. Lovecraft is studying for his BA in both Professional Writing and Creative Writing at the University of Central Arkansas. He lives in Greenbrier, Arkansas with his family, where his dog and seven cats keep him in line.

1 thought on “Plotting a Novel”

  1. I don’t think I keep as much notes as other writers do, probably not as much notes as I should. I’ll just kind of keep it rambling around loose in my head until it gets to the point that I have to start writing just to keep it all straight.

    With longer projects I like to block it out by chapters: what happens in each chapter, how it moves the overall story forward, and so forth. Sometimes I will write down a short sentence or two synopsis about each chapter and use that as my outline. Sometimes even with that I’ll have it so straight in my mind that I won’t need to write it down.

    I like coming at the story from different angles from one chapter to the next, you know, jumping around a bit, different lines of development, different characters, and so forth. If a story has too linear of a progression, it will get a bit boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

